Global Green Awards 20th Anniversary
Formerly known as the Millennium Awards


This year's recipients of the 2016 Global Green Awards include:

John Fasana, Chairman, Metro Board of Directors and Councilmember, City of Duarte and

Phillip A. Washington, Chief Executive officer, Los Angeles County Metropolitan Transportation Authority

Kelly vlahakis-Hanks, CEo, Earth Friendly products

John Picard, Architect and Sustainability Expert

Mohamed Nasheed, Former president of the Maldives

Trammell S. Crow, philanthropist and Founder of Earth Day Texas


Check out our photos from the event!
Click here to read a recap!



Presented annually in Los Angeles, the Millennium Awards event, now called the Global Green Awards, was established in 1996 to recognize and herald individuals, companies and organizations embodying Global Green's mission to foster a global value shift toward a sustainable and secure future.

Global Green's 19th Annual Millennium Awards was held on June 6, 2015 at the Hyatt Regency Century Plaza in Los Angeles, California, honoring the following dignitaries:

Daniel Weiss and Yaniv Tepper
Co-Founders and Managing Directors, The Angeleno Group, LLC
Corporate Environmental Leadership Award

Archbishop Desmond Tutu
Social Rights Activist
International Environmental Leadership Award


Judd Malkin and Neil Bluhm
Founders of JMB Realty
Green Building Leadership Award
accepted on their behalf by Sarah Shaw

Prince Ea
Entertainment Industry Environmental Leadership Award

Dr. Vandana Shiva
Environmental Activist, Author and Physicist
Individual Environmental Leadership Award


Ibrahim AlHusseini
General Partner, Full Cycle Energy Fund
Environmental Community Leadership Award

Energy Upgrade California

California Environmental Leadership Award


View photos from the 19th Annual Millennium Awards.

View photos from the 18th Annual Millennium Awards.


Past Millennium Award Recipients

Individual Environmental Leadership Award

Individual activists whose efforts, on their own or through an organization, empower their community and society toward ecological restoration and a sustainable future. Their courage and innovation inspire others and move them to action.

2015 Dr. Vendana Shiva
2011 Ed Begley Jr.
2008 Van Jones
2007 David Orr
2006 William McDonough, William McDonough and Partners
2005 Sally Lilienthal, Ploughshares Fund
2003 Paul Hawken
2000 John Adams, NRDC
1999 David Suzuki
1998 Winona LaDuke
1997 David Brower, Earth Island Institute

Corporate Environmental Leadership Award

A successful corporate leader moving their company from "business as usual" toward a "restorative enterprise." This individual's and company's commitment to resource efficiency, social responsibility and sustainability pervades throughout their company and personal life. This person encourages and inspires chieftains in industry and others to join in pioneering the processes of sustainable development.

2015 Daniel Weiss and Yaniv Tepper,
         Co-Founders and Managing Directors, The Angeleno Group, LLC
2013 Danny Kennedy, President & Co Founder of Sungevity
2012 John Replogle, CEO of Seventh Generation
2007 Pierre André Senizergues, Sole Technologies
2006 Thomas C. Leppert, The Turner Corporation
2004 Gary Erickson, Clif Bar
2003 Drew and Myra Goodman, Earthbound Farm
2002 Hewlett Packard
2000 Joan Bavaria, Trillium Asset Management Corporation
1999 Gary Hirshberg, Stonyfield Farm
1997 James Quinn, Collins Pine Co.
1996 Ray Anderson, Interface

International Environmental Leadership Award

Individual or organization demonstrating international leadership to protect the environment and create a value shift toward a sustainable, secure future. Through their use of collaboration and partnership, they shine a light on environmental challenges and conflicts while providing innovative solutions and initiatives.

2015 Archbishop Desmond Tutu
2014 David Crane, President & CEO, NRG Energy
2013 Seane Corn, Founder, Off the Mat
2012 Alice Bamford and Lady Bamford of Daylesford Organic Farms & One Gun Ranch
2010 U.S. Environmental Protection Agency
2006 Shelia Watt-Cloutier, Inuit Circumpolar Conference
2005 David Krieger, Nuclear Age Peace Foundation
2004 Zac Goldsmith, The Ecologist
2003 Robert Watson
2002 Betty and Homero Aridjis
2000 Richard N. Goldman, The Goldman Environmental Prize
1999 The Natural Step
1998 Solar Electric Light Fund
1997 National Geographic
1996 Senator George Mitchell

Entertainment Industry Environmental Leadership Award

Individuals who exhibits extraordinary leadership reflecting a deep personal commitment to the environment and encourage responsible behavior amongst the public and within the industry. The honorees support efforts that respond to GCI President Gorbachev's call for entertainment and culture to help educate and encourage a global value shift towards the environment.

2015 Prince Ea
2012 Ed & Cathy O’Neill
2011 Mark Ruffalo
2010 James Cameron & Suzy Amis Cameron
2009 Jeff Skoll
2008 Lyn Davis Lear
2007 Jena King
2005 Kevin Bacon and Kyra Sedgwick
2004 Gale Anne Hurd
2003 Leonardo DiCaprio
2002 Woody Harrelson
2000 Lauren Schuler Donner & Richard Donner
1999 Alexandra Paul
1998 Julia Louis Dreyfus
1997 Pierce Brosnan
1996 Ann and Jerry Moss

California/Local Environmental Leadership Award

Individual or organization demonstrating environmental leadership in California public policy through innovative legislation, regulations, or initiatives that encourage sustainability.

2015 Energy Upgrade CA
2013 Senator Kevin de León & Philanthropist Tom Steyer
2012 Mike Sullivan, Founder & President of LACarGUY
2010 The University of California System
2009 Wallis Annenberg / The Annenberg Foundation
2008 Los Angeles Unified School District (LAUSD)
2007 Mayor Gavin Newsom
2006 Fran Pavley, 41st District, California Assembly
2005 CalPERS
2004 Los Angeles Community College District
2003 Los Angeles City Councilman Eric Garcetti
2002 CA State Treasurer Phil Angelides
2000 S. David Freeman
1999 Los Angeles City Councilwoman Ruth Galanter
1998 City of Santa Monica

Green Building Environmental Leadership Award

Organization, development, or structure that showcases true advancement in green building practices, including such elements as LEED certification, cradle to cradle material usage, transit and site planning, and land use.

2015 Judd Malkin and Neil Bluhm, Founders of JMB Realty
2014 Rick Fedrizzi, President, CEO, & Founding Chairman, U.S. Green Building Council
2010 W Hollywood Hotel & Residences
2009 Marc Nathanson, Falcon Waterfree Technologies
2008 Mark Edlen & Homer Williams, The South Group

Community Environmental Leadership Award

Inaugurated in 2006, the Millennium Award for Community Environmental Leadership honors individuals or organizations that have cultivated and led communities to create extraordinary collective environmental achievements.

2013 Ben Goldhirsh, CEO & Co Founder, GOOD Worldwide
2011 Wendy Schmidt, Businesswoman & Philanthropist
2007 Irmelin DiCaprio
2006 Nina Simons & Kenny Ausubel, Bioneers

Founders Award

This award recognizes those who embody the mission of the Green Cross to "foster a global value shift toward the environment;" whose actions reflect the spirit of President Gorbachev's leadership and vision; and whose dedication has played a significant role in the founding of Green Cross International and Global Green USA.

2010 Matt Petersen
2009 Zem Joaquin
1999 Pat Mitchell, PBS
1998 Ted Turner and the Turner Family
1997 Diane Meyer Simon